The importance of being a reader……….

22 Mar

CREATIVE WRITING TIPS WITH LAURA PARISH
Regular blogger and creative writer Laura posts her third batch of handy hints and tips for all you creative writers out there…thanks Laura.

“Many writers will say that they don’t read when in the middle of a project. They say that it affects what they are writing too much; what they are reading is too much of an influence.

I’m the opposite. I can’t imagine not being a reader. I’ve liked books from the time I was old enough to know what they were and would look forward to the days when my Mum would take me down to the library and I could pick out my books (I still harbour a guilty pleasure for the Sweet Valley stories.) One of my favourite memories is when my big sister would sit and read Malory Towers to me before I went to sleep.

Even now, I have a bookshelf full of a To be Read (TBR) pile that’s as tall as me and although I have a lot of reading to do to catch up, I wouldn’t have it any other way. One of the reasons why I started the Novel Kicks book club was because of my love of books.

Above all, I believe being a reader is essential to being a writer. You have to have an idea of what you feel makes a good book, plot or a certain way of constructing a sentence. It’s not enough, in my opinion to just write and not know the market you’re writing for inside out.

If you want to be a writer, read as much as you can in as many different genres as you can (but especially in your chosen market.) Learn what you feel makes a good book and a badly written book and remember to write for yourself. The published side and trying to get other people to like your work is something that comes much later.”

Laura Parish is a passionate creative writer, producing at least one novel a year. Laura is so dedicated to reading and creative writing that she has produced her own website for others who share the same love. Check out Laura’s website http://www.novelkicks.co.uk/ 
For more information about Laura or to follow her creative work go to http://www.lauraparish.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

